Travel Update 1 – From Lima to la Sierra

I am travelling Peru to discover Peruvian cooking specialties and innovations. I meet people in different places to find recipes to write a peruvian cooking book.

So where did I go since my arrival on Sunday 12th July?Who did I meet? What food did I try? What recipes did I get?

Where did I go since my arrival on Sunday 12th July?

Lima / Pachacamac / Huaraz / Chavín de Huantar / Huari

Who did I meet?

In Lima I met Luis Gustavo my Couchsurfing host you gave me much information about Lima… I dedicated one article to his top 3 restaurants’ type in Lima (article to come soon!)

His mother, helped me to find out different types of potatoes and as a nutritionist, she gave me a hint on Peru’s malnitrition situation

I met as well Oscar, a food journalist who writtes for SOHO Peru.

I met a Canadian girl, Vanessa Huet, who writtes a very nice blog about travelling in Peru: Voyage Pérou (in French)

In Chavín I met a civilian guard who gave me a nice recipe while we were taking breakfast in a street food stall.

Smily lady selling her Ceviche serrano in Huari before the annual feast

Smily lady selling her Ceviche serrano in Huari before the annual feast

In Huari, a lady who spoke only few words of Spanish sold a ceviche serrano to me for lunch, before the corrida (where I didn’t go obviously, as a vegetarian)… She was very smily and it was a pleasure to spend some time with her!

In the car from Huari to San Marcos, I met Sonia, a nice school teacher who taugh me some utmostly important words in Quechua:

Quyami: I love You
Shongon: heart

In Huaraz, I met Francesca, a Quinoa soup maker who sells it in the street everyday except saturdays and sundays… She was interested in knowing about French food for breakfast.

While returning to Huaraz, I met Kylin, an american volunteer in a small city far beyond huari… she teaches health there for 22 months!

What recipes did I get?

Sudado de Trucha - Chavín

Sudado de Trucha – Chavín

– Quinoa sopita (sweet porridge of quinoa for breakfast) – Huaraz
– Papa Quasqi (potatoe soup) – Chavín
– Ceviche serrano (ceviche de chocho) – Huari
– Pachamanca de trucha (still to be checked) – Chavín
– Sudado de Trucha (truit broth) – Chavín

Any recommendation for new recipes? other places to go? Please let me know!

 

3 thoughts on “Travel Update 1 – From Lima to la Sierra

  1. Trop coooool ! 🙂
    On voit que tu ne t’ennuies pas !
    Je te prêterai peut-être à nouveau ma cuisine quand tu rentres pour goûter une des recettes 😛 hihi
    Bizes

    Like

  2. Que de belles rencontres, génial!!! Et tes photos sont trés belles aussi et donnent vraiment envie de visiter ce pays!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

