Travel Update 4 – La Selva

I am travelling Peru to discover Peruvian cooking specialties and innovations. I meet people in different places to find recipes to write a peruvian cooking book.

So where did I go since my last update on 2nd August? Who did I meet? What food did I try? What recipes did I get?

Where did I go since my last update onthe 2nd of August ?

Tarapoto / Lamas / Sauce / Iquitos / Nautas / San Miguel

Who did I meet?

When I arrived in Tarapoto after 8hours of exhausting bus, it was noisy, too hot and people too pushy… fortunately I met some really nice people, especially Medinacelly from Hidalgo tours… he put me in contact with Debora…

Debora in her resort, Laguna Azul, San Martin

Debora in her resort, Laguna Azul, San Martin

Debora, cook and head of the “Fundo Angaiza” a paradise place on hearth serving dishes from the selva let me cook with her for 3 hours… I thank her so much for explaining me all the secrets of her selva dishes such as patarashca.

I really appreciated meeting a great cook giving value to local selva products in tradicional or innovative dishes : Elia Garcia de Reategui. Her contribution to amazonian cooking is really impressive and her fight to have the “cocina amazonica” recognized is worth it… from what I tried at her restaurant la Patarashca.

Well I was told Tarapoto is the culinary capital of peruvian amazonia. That is mainly due to the wide range of resources available in the region… among them, chocolate. It was planted as alternative culture to the coca leaf and it was a real challenge… and I understood the importance of the work made by chocolate factories such as la Orquidea for the cocoa growing communities thanks to the explanations of Twiggie who is in charge of quality and porduction at Orquidea, Tarapoto. The chocolates are really good…

After this nice time I Tarapoto and wanted to stay… but I carries on my journey to Iquitos and met Kevin, a young peruvian fascinated by all the nice unknown places to discover around Iquitos… Thanks to him, I enjoyed the evenings of Iquitos, drinking a good beer on the shore of the Amazon river…

Juan Carlos in the boat to San Miguel, catching a fish that jumped above the wooden boat

Juan Carlos in the boat to San Miguel, catching a fish that jumped above the wooden boat

After some nice encounters in the market of Belen, I joined Juan Carlos, a man proud of his amazonian heritage, fighting against prejudices towards native indians by allowing tourists to come to his village 4hours from Iquitos by bus and boat to discover what the amazonian forets has to offer… As a retired cook, he showed me how to prepare a really nice Patarashca for which we went to the heart of the forest, looking for “hoja de bijao”, the leaf of bijao, which is necessary for the dish…

What recipes did I get?

Preparation for patarashca, San Miguel, Loreto

Arroz con pollo – Tarapoto, las ollas de James
Cocada – Anita – bac pour la laguna azul
Patarashca – Debora – Laguna Azul, Sauce, fundo Angaiza
Tilapia a la hoja – Debora – Laguna Azul, Sauce, fundo Angaiza
Patacachos – Debora – Laguna Azul, Sauce, fundo Angaiza
Tacacho – Debora – Laguna Azul, Sauce, fundo Angaiza
Chicharones de pescado – Debora – Laguna Azul, Sauce, fundo Angaiza
Juane de Yuca – Tarapoto, market
Sauce piquante de cocona et d’aji charapita – Irma – Tarapoto, marché
Refresco de Cocona – Irma – Tarapoto, marché
Pescado a la hoja 2 – Julia – Belen market, Iquitos
Soufflé de chonta – Diana – La Noche – San Miguel, Loreto
Patarashca 2 – Juan Carlos – San Miguel, Loreto
Ensalada de chonta – Juan Carlos – San Miguel, Loreto

Any recommendation for new recipes? other places to go? Please let me know!

Leave a Reply

